Norman Corwin Interview

My good friend Roger Gregg of Crazy Dog Audio Theatre interviewed the radio legend back in 2003. Norman Corwin, still going strong at 96, can be better described as, at least by my definition, the Spielberg/Shakespeare combo of radio. As a writer, director, and producer, he’s created some of the greatest long form radio drama in the history of radio. Some years ago, I’d discovered old copies of Thirteen By Corwin, Untitled, and Other Radio Plays (both out of print), followed by, after some searching, More By Corwin. Those two books have since changed the way I’ve looked at writing and visualizing. Why he isn’t mentioned along with the great 20th century American writers, I don’t know. Ray Bradbury, supposedly, was inspired to write after listening to the legendary broadcast of Corwin’s On A Note of Triumph. You may recall that a short form documentary film, A Note of Triumph: The Golden Age of Norman Corwin about him won the Academy Awards this year.

On a personal note, I was given permission to re-create ‘On A Note…’ last year on its 50th Anniversary. I have to thank Mr. Corwin’s good friend/agent Mr. Richard Fish for making that happen, and who also kindly had emailed me the script of the play. I don’t know why I thought I had the stones to attempt such a thing. Perhaps it was to pay tribute to a man who’d never buckled under pressure and who took on enormous projects with such confidence that it energized everyone around him. I guess circumstances that lead to my not being able to get the project going were a blessing in disgiuse. Why mess with a broadcast history classic?

Comments are closed.

